Are You Really Lost

Kompakt, 2005

Matias Aguayo returns with a long player that brings him right back into spotlight, created from the refuge of his Berlin studio. »Are You Really Lost?« completely proves without exaggeration that we are amongst a true virtuoso of our time. The opening track »De Papel« sets the pace for what is possibly Kompakt’s most physically motivating album to date proving that slow-grooves-better. Anyone who drives faster than 125 will be pulled over, enjoy the journey around 119 BpM, as the sweat will drench your body equally as much if you were travelling this fantastic road at a faster speed and you are destined to come out of it reeking of great sex. So let´s share some words about the music. With »Radiotaxi« and »Drums & Feather«, Aguayo´s Chilean roots come to the forefront. Unlike his fellow countrymen Ricardo Villalobos or Luciano, Aguayo resonates far more robust and pop-loving than the exquisite psychedelic blunderings of his predecessors. »De Papel« comes across like the uptempo version of Massive Attack’s »Daydreaming«. Truly intense. Moving onward, Aguayo takes the cake and eats it in all its scrumptiousness with the title track »Are You Really Lost«. »Planet Claire«, this tempestuous, almost ragga-like uptempo stomper with abnormal references to the B 52´s will be sure to consign club ceilings in need of repair. And there´s »Well« – the first true pop song of the album that latently recalls Grace Jones’ lascivious genre-mix portrayed in her »Island Life« times though with Aguayo’s seductive crooning, this song is destined to bring only the dirtiest of thoughts to the cleanest of minds. Finally we reach the hypnotic »So In Love«, poised to redefine disco for the years to come. Aguayo’s solo debut is co-produced by Markus Rossknecht. You already know him from his acclaimed project The Meteorites, whom aside from Supercollider, recently catapulted the funk of the future on Cristian Vogels’ Rise Robots Rise. On »Are You Really Lost?« the catapulting continues. Innovation, Entertainment, Techno, Eroticism, Pop. Matias Aguayo lives it all and pushes it forward.

A1 De Papel
A2 Radiotaxi
B1 Drums & Feathers
B2 Well
C1 New Life
C2 The Green & The Red
D1 Are You Really Lost
D2 So In Love

Release Date: October 04, 2005
Format: LP, CD and digital
Catalog Nr: KOMPAKT 126 / CD 44

Buy on KompaktiTunesjunodownloadBeatport

  • Matias-Aguayo-Are-You-Really-Lost